Fishing Adventures

Lake Selmac 3-4-10

I went back to Lake Selmac for some trout fishing and if i had got 4 i would of switched over to some bass rigs. I only caught 1 here again, had about 5 bites i didnt get, others had stringers full by me, one guy got skunked that had been there awhile. All my bites came on night crawlers, but the people next to me were catching them on powerbait. The lake is full and going over the spill-a-way which was cool to see.  Heres some pictures…

This is the miniature golf course across the road from the only free parking area at the lake.

 

 

 

 

 

4 responses

  1. Mel

    I just started fishing a little Power Bait last year. Shoreman over at Northern California Trout got me started on it. Haven’t had much luck yet, but, I tend to fish lures a lot. Nightcrawlers are usually my back up.

    Again, sure are some pretty lakes over your way.

    March 6, 2010 at 5:20 AM

  2. I like to use PowerBait with four pound test line and a size 18 treble hook about 15 inches above my sinker (more if there are weeds) I usually just let them bite until they have hooked themselves (rod starts jumping into the lake). Use just enough PowerBait to cover the hook and make sure it floats. ‘Don’t miss many fish that way.

    Feel free to take all this with a grain of salt. You have already caught a bit more fish than I have this year, but I have only gotten out once or twice. Lucky!

    ‘Really enjoy your posts. Tight Lines!

    March 6, 2010 at 7:34 PM

  3. To Mel. I just started using it last year in sept/oct didnt really care for it til i started getting fish with it 🙂

    To Nimrod. Next time im out there im going use the powerbait and let them swallow it like u say, they only stock keepers 🙂

    My favorite PowerBait is the rainbow that is orange and green mixture. But my favorite bait is night crawlers, i get them for free after it rains, or at the store for some fattys for a few bucks.

    Glad you two enjoy the posts.

    March 6, 2010 at 8:14 PM

  4. Shane!!

    Try fishing by those cement outcroppings. We’ve always had good luck when trolling that area!

    March 11, 2010 at 10:00 PM

Leave a Reply

