Fishing Adventures

Applegate Lake 4-7

Wednesday was an awesome day, the weather felt like summer i could of worn shorts. I didnt plan on fishing but since the sun was out and i had some stuff on my mind, i took a drive. First i drove to the town of Applegate, i went up the hills a little bit then turned around no pictures from up there.  Then i drove to another place iv never been, i always  like to travel new roads and see new places. I went up the little Applegate road past historic Buncom and up a dirt road on the side of a hill. I got to Tunnel Ridge Site, im not sure how it got that name but you can take a trail down to the Little Applegate River. This area will be great during the summer when we have those triple digit days, you’ll see in the pictures a little rock dam with a pool behind it. I walked up and down the river didnt see any fish nor any large chunks of gold. Ended up with a hand full of cool rocks and some splashes to the face with the cold water. I got to Applegate Lake around 6pm and fished for about an hour. The lake is filling up quite nicely and you can now fish in the rear of the lake for the first time in months. The trout are up there, but im thinking most are still near the dam. I seen quite a few jump but didnt catch any, i didnt see the Ospreys catch any either. I used powerbait on one rod and spinners on the other, the boat 150yd out from me wasnt catching anything that i seen. Still was a good day, nice to see the lake filling up.

To anyone that reads/looks at my blog, i want to know if you have any suggestions, tips, or comments on how to improve or make the site look better? April 24th is coming up and that is trout opener here for us, ill be fishing some awesome lakes that have been closed to fishing since oct31st. Mainly Hyatt, Howard Prarie and Diamond Lake, also the rogue river above lost creek opens. So look forward to some pictures of new places and fat trout real soon.

5 responses

  1. Seems to me that Wednesday was the day for skunking. Opening day for a lot of the area here is the 24th also. Looking forward to some stream fishing.

    Mark

    April 8, 2010 at 11:48 PM

  2. Hey. The fly fishing thing started last October with a trip up to the Deschutes for Steelhead,when they wouldn’t let me fish with spinning gear. Said I HAD to use fly fishing gear and then when I got up there, HAD to use their gear. Since then it’s been a work in progress. Now I’m working on the fly tieing thing as well. Expensive sport.

    Mark

    April 9, 2010 at 12:55 AM

  3. I think one of the things that attracts me to your site is the simplicity of it. Your posts aren’t too long. For a busy guy like me, it is nice to take five minutes and read about your adventures and look at your new photos. I think your photos are getting better and better and are a credit to your dedication to taking and posting lots of them. I am not sure if I am the guy to give you any advice, but I will think about it and give you any ideas I can come up with.

    Nice pictures today, thanks! Oh, and sorry you didn’t find any large chunks of gold. That area is know for large chunks for gold I hear. : )

    April 9, 2010 at 2:50 AM

  4. Mel

    I just wanted to add that the second picture in your line of photos here is an excellent view. I would love to cast a line in to that beautiful stream.

    April 9, 2010 at 4:20 AM

  5. I’m liking your approach of letting your pictures speak for you.

    April 9, 2010 at 3:52 PM

Leave a Reply

