Fishing Adventures

4-14 A day to forget…

Iv been putting this post off for some time now, but i guess ill write about what happened last Wednesday. I left my house around 1pm to fish Lost Creek Lake, on my way i should of known better, there was lots of rain and i even saw some lightening out toward highway 140.  I got to the hatchery and it was still raining, so  i parked my car and went to go watch the steelhead come into the hatchery. I forgot my steelhead rod at my house, so i didnt get to fish for them, i saw some nice ones and most were fin clipped. Eventually the rain stopped and the sun came out, i went and bought some trout pellets from the quarter machine, im gonna make my own powerbait one day, then i took off for the lake. I fished by the Takelma Boat ramp, im guessing on the dam would of been better where its deeper. I got skunked, lost a few spinners, and the worms are in the fridge and havent been touched since wednesay. By 6pm i had a enough of the wind, and i had picked up every bottle and beer can i could find in the area i was fishing, so i packed up and went to my car. My thoughts then were, “I still have some daylight left lets go down that dirt road and see if i can find some new fishing holes”  Well i found some new fishing spots, but i kept on driving up the road, ended up at the top of a hill and I could see the lake way down below. While up there i took a few pictures and took in the sights, was really beautiful and peaceful up there, didnt see a single soul while up there. Coming down the dirt road i was approching a corner while going around 20 mphs, hit my brakes and my tires locked on me and i ended up going straigt into a ditch on my side instead of taking the turn. This was the first major wreck iv been in while driving, i immediately climbed out of the passenger side and proceeded to call for some help. Thankfully i wasnt going fast and the area my car flipped wassnt that steep, and thanks to a tree that kept me on my side and only put a small dent on my roof. I made it out of the wreck with out any major injuries, a few scrapes and a bruise and a hurt thumb, i think all that happend when i jumped from the car, i dont know. Well heres the pictures, the one of my car was taken with my phone.

The lake is down there.

Next two were taken about 5 minutes before i flipped

Thanks for reading. Ill try to do one more blog post today, it’ll be about the local cage fights from last saturday night. Im looking forward to this saturday its trout opener and my plans are to camp at Hyatt Lake. My car’s been at the shop so hopefully it gets fixed in time.

5 responses

  1. Good Lord! Glad to hear you made it out okay. That’s really scary stuff.

    April 20, 2010 at 1:43 AM

  2. I’m glad to hear you made it out of that ok! Definitely a day to forget, thought it may be kind of hard : )

    You can always be thankful that you were not hurt, though. Good luck with the powerbait invention!

    April 20, 2010 at 3:21 AM

  3. …”though” it may be kind of hard. (sorry, I am really stinking tired).

    April 20, 2010 at 3:23 AM

  4. Glad you came through the crash OK. Could have been lot worse. I remember, years ago before Power Bait, we used to make our own floating bait out of Velveeta cheese, oil of Anise, and a packet of “floating” powder. You had to put it all together and cook it on the stove. A lot easier to got to Fisherman’s Warehouse and buy a couple of jars of PB.

    Looking forward to your opening day post.

    Mark

    April 20, 2010 at 1:53 PM

  5. Mel

    Just want to send along my get well wishes, and, am thankful that things were not more serious for you. Happy hookups on opening day and looking forward to your post.

    April 21, 2010 at 4:11 AM

Leave a Reply

