Fishing Adventures

Hyatt Lake 4-24

Saturday was Trout Opener in Oregon, every lake opened up to fishing and most rivers are open now except for some coastal rivers. The lakes in my area that had been closed to fishing were Hyatt and Howard Prairie, they are only a few miles apart. Howard Prairie is a much larger lake but the bank access is very limited if you dont want to pay 4 dollars to park in the special areas. Diamond Lake is the other lake in my region that opened to fishing saturday but its still covered in ice, but should be good to fish in a couple weeks. Diamond is one of the best rainbow trout fisheries in the state, a few years ago they had to kill off the whole lake because of illegally introduced tai chubbs, and since then the lake has been back to its glory days check out the fishing report from the resorts website lots of fish pictures http://www.diamondlake.net/fishingreport.html

I got to the lake around noon, and found most of the rogue valley fisherman had the same idea as me to fish Hyatt. I fished Hyatt twice last year and could count the other people fishing on one hand, saturday was a different story. After circling the lake i chose a spot that wasnt too crowded except for the birds, but i didnt even see them catch fish. I fished there for a couple hours using worms and spinners, had zero bites. The sun would of been nice, but the damn wind was freezing, i ended up in my car for a little lunch and i caught the last quarter of game 4 of the blazers win. Then i drove to the other end of the lake, to a campground i forget the name of, its the one with a boat launch on the other side of the resort. Fishing there was snag city, i ended up fishing with powerbait on the bottom, and worms under a bobber, got snagged up using both. I even fished some inflated worms on the bottom, with no avail. I put on my favorite panther martin and cast a few times then i snag that up too and lose it. Thats when i started to pack up, it was around 630, i probably would of stayed longer if it hadnt been so cold, and the gear i lost. Im defiantly coming back once i get my pontoon boat, i think if i fish the old creek channel ill have good luck, and maybe the water needs to warm a bit.

Next two pictures were taken on Green Springs highway. Just a little further down the road u can see Emigrant Lake at the bottom.

Thanks for taking a look! and tight lines do all the the fisherman/women πŸ˜€

5 responses

  1. You know, I think getting skunked once in a while keeps us all humble.

    Mark

    April 27, 2010 at 11:07 PM

  2. I agree wholeheartedly with Mark! Thanks for the link for Diamond Lake. I didn’t know it was out there.

    April 28, 2010 at 2:11 AM

  3. Mel

    Boy, Howdy, I would agree with both of the comments so far. I like to say, “sometimes the fish win”! There is some beautiful scenery to enjoy even when the fishing is bad.

    April 29, 2010 at 3:48 AM

  4. Shane ~ I should probably google it before I say anything, but are you in the general Bend area? The name of that lake sounds familiar….but there are A LOT of lakes in that area. I spend a fair amount of time with family in the Sun River zone. Anyway, loved the pictures and I’m off to get you on my blogroll page ~
    Rebecca

    April 30, 2010 at 4:26 AM

  5. Getting skunked every now and then is ok πŸ™‚ or else it wouldnt be fishing.

    Rebecca no worry’s. Most of my post are from SouthWest Oregon, Im from Medford. I have 1 post about a central oregon lake when we caught Mackinaw Trout , it was at very beautiful Crescent Lake. Thanks for adding me!

    April 30, 2010 at 10:15 PM

Leave a Reply

