Fishing Adventures

Applegate Lake

Saturday i fished my favorite lake once again, but this time it is at full pool. I arrived around 330pm, and stopped at the water outtake peir thing for some pictures of the lake, didnt see any fish jump or else i would of fished off the dam. I ended up fishing the back end of the lake again, i like it because its deep there and its in between where carberry creek and applegate river come into the lake, also all the rocks could mean some bass, and i plan on trying some bass this year from the clean lakes. When i got to my spot i immediately started throwing a holographic panther martin spinner i had on my rod from thursday at the pond, third or fourth cast and i catch a freshly stocked trout, back he went. I ended up releasing about 4 more of his twins, also had about 5 LDR’s Long Distance Release πŸ™‚ I brought home 2 trout. Caught all trout on panther martin spinners, used powerbait on my second rod but didnt have any luck with it. All n all was a wonderful day at the lake, plenty of bites and plenty of sun. I plan on camping up there soon and going to Miller Lake which iv heard u have to hike into, iv never been there but it looks beautiful from pictures iv seen and its not far from Applegate Lake. Thanks for reading and tight lines!! πŸ˜€

Tight Lines!!

3 responses

  1. Hey. Always a good place to fish at the inlet of a stream. My son and I had an interesting time when we were last at Ice House. Fishing side by side with the same slip sinker rig and the same color power bait. All the fish were caught on my PB. Even when he put my bait on my rod, he caught. Maybe a new jar of PB is called for. Plain old Power Bait in Rainbow and don’t forget the fluorocarbon leader.

    Mark

    May 3, 2010 at 3:18 AM

  2. Mel

    Hey, if they will take a Panther Martin spinner regularly, that is great. More fun fishing that way I think. I think you were right on by fishing an inlet area to the lake. Good planning.

    May 3, 2010 at 4:46 AM

  3. It is interesting that you didn’t catch anything on the PowerBait. I finally picked up a 1/16 oz black Panther Martin and plan to try it at the local bluegill pond soon. I think I will have to get a few more and try them at my favorite trout lake as well.

    Love the blue sky with the small puffy clouds in top photo. Great job!

    Tight Lines!

    May 4, 2010 at 2:46 AM

Leave a Reply

