Fishing Adventures

Cinco De Trouto at the Expo

I spent a few hours yesterday at the local Expo Ponds, its nice coming here because its right down the road pretty much just a couple miles. Talked to a high school kid and he said his class just went on a field trip to the hatchery, and the hatchery worker told them when they were stocking the pond this week and they accidentally left the gate open and they over stocked the pond lol. Looking at the stocking schedule it says the pond was due to have 1,300 legals stocked and the kid said they put in 5,000. But for some reason the fish werent really biting, i caught and released 4-5 smaller trout about 8-9 inches is my guess. The other day Colby was fishing the ponds and did quite well catching a 6 and half pound bass and a few other ranging from 4 to 2 pounds, i recommend checking out his you-tube channel for some bass videos from southern oregon and northern california. My plans are to learn how to catch bass some time this year, iv been talking to my step sisters boy friend for a long time about going fishing with him and hes a great bass fisherman. But as of now trout is just fine and what ever else that decides to take my offerings 🙂

 

3 responses

  1. Cody Ames

    Hey are these the ponds right by the expo center, where the fun center is at? We are thinking of heading over there for Mother’s day so I might just have to see if I can get this trout skunk off me there. 🙂

    May 7, 2010 at 10:52 PM

  2. Yeah these are those ponds. Drive down the road a bit and you’ll come across a dirt parking lot, park there. The first pond you’ll see doesnt have trout in it just bass and panfish and carp probably. Walk past that pond and you’ll come to the pond they stock with trout, there is also bass, panfish and carp. You’ll probably notice more people fishing and alot of trash. Iv caught the trout there on various spinners and a gold kastmaster, bait under a bobber seems to work aswell.

    Id honestly go somewhere else though, the place is really filthy and most of the trout are small. but if u know how to catch bass there are some hawgs in the ponds 😀

    May 7, 2010 at 11:49 PM

  3. Cody Ames

    Sweet thanks! 🙂 My thought was that my GF and her boy could play at the family fun center while I get this darn trout curse/skunk taken care of. 🙂 Probably would just catch and release as I just want to catch some fish!!! lol.

    As far as lures I was thinking either a spinner or a kastmaster. Kastmaster is actually my go-to lure as I have yet to get skunked when I pull out the kastmaster 🙂

    May 8, 2010 at 3:01 AM

Leave a Reply

