Fishing Adventures

Camping !!!!!!!!!! part 2

Friday i woke up and set off to see more sights on Highway 138 and the surrounding areas. For those that are not familar with the area Highway 138 runs along the North Umpqua river from the town of Roseburg to Diamond Lake, along the way there are signs that mark different waterfalls and some of them have campgrounds you can stay at. Also the day before i drove to Toketee Ranger station and picked up some maps and pamphlets about the area, one of papers i got was about the hot springs. I woke up ate some bacon and smoked trout, and decided to see a couple more waterfalls that i had drove by yesterday on my way to Toketee lake. The First one was White horse falls, this one has a nice wooden deck that u can walk out on for a good look at the water fall.

This one is Clearwater Falls

This is the top of Clearwater Falls

And this is below Clearwater Falls

I came back and fished Toketee Lake some more.

From what iv read, there is only brown trout in the lake. I didnt catch any though, next time though ill be prepared and have some Tasmanians with me.

I then decided to go to the Umpqua Hot Springs Geologic Area. The trail to the springs is less then a half mile, but part of it is very steep. But first you must cross the North Umpqua on this log.

When you see this you know your there

This was the covered tub, which was nice to keep the cloths dry because while i was there, it hailed, snowed, rained, and then the sun came out.

There are about 6-7 other tubs along the side of the cliff, the North Umpqua river is at the bottom, you can watch it while u soak.

This is a waterfall right down the trail from the hot springs, If i remember right its called surprise falls

On my way home saturday i stopped at the Natural Bridge on the Rogue River

This is the natural bridge, the rogue river runs through old volcanic tubes.

This is what its like above the natural bridge, i should of brought my rod with me.

5 responses

  1. It looks like it was raining pretty hard in a couple of those photos. Thanks for sharing.

    May 25, 2010 at 2:16 AM

  2. Mel

    Just wanted to compliment you again on some stunning photography. You are very good with the camera my friend. I would love to visit that part of Oregon some time before time runs out for me. Guess I will put it on my bucket list!

    May 25, 2010 at 2:48 AM

  3. Very true…you did a fantastic job at capturing the nature’s beauty! Keep it up.

    May 25, 2010 at 6:57 AM

  4. You’re the only other person I’ve found that uses Tasmanian Devils. I stumbled on one them at Bear River Reservoir a couple of summers ago and nailed a nice brown on it. Since then, I’ve added a couple of other colors and toss them if I happen to be in water where there might be a brown. Great pictures.

    Mark

    May 25, 2010 at 2:11 PM

  5. Wow, You take some amazing pictures. What state are you in? If this is Oregon, I may have been at the exact place(s).

    May 27, 2010 at 4:21 AM

Leave a Reply

