Fishing Adventures

Lake Selmac: Friday the 13th

Long time, no post, i know i know… Well this last week i bought my first boat, a 80 dollar craigslist special. Friday i took it on its maiden voyage to Lake Selmac. Before i go on with my fishing report, id like to share to you a couple facts about Selmac. Its a small lake about 160 acres, it is stocked early in the year with legal sized trout (had some post earlier where i caught the trout) but the main attraction is Large Mouth Bass. They are HUGE in this lake, it has actually held the Oregon state record for LM bass twice in the past.

I arrived at the lake right when it started to get light out, and quickly assembled my boat.Β  I think i may of been the first boat on the water, seen another pontoon on the other side of the lake shortly after i got to part of the lake i wanted to fish. I hooked up my green senko texas style and began tossing the the worm. Not more then 30 minutes later i noticed a subtle bite and i set the hook like a real bass master, thankfully i did. This fish bent my shakespeare trout rod like iv never seen before, and luckily i had my drag set really tight or else im sure it would of spooled me. After a little battle i finally managed to muscle him up to the surface and grab him by the lip. This was the most excited id been about catching a fish in a long time. So with that said i was shaking pretty hard while trying to take pictures of this hog, i took 10 photos of this fish and only 2 of the photos have the fish in it, and those 2 pictures arnt the greatest. But here folks is the biggest bass iv ever caught.

 

After releasing that hog it took me a few minutes to settle down and regain my composure, i also made a quick phone call to my bass fishing buddy, had to tell some one. I then hooked into 2-3 smaller bass that werent photo worthy, but i must say there were still really nice bass. By then my senko was tore up pretty bad, so instead of texas rig i went to wacky style and not to long after i hooked into another hog. This one was a tad bit smaller but seemed to put up a harder fight, he had my rod tip under water when he decided to go under my boat. You know the fish is big when he/she can tow you around the lake. This one must of been down in the weeds because when i brought him up he still had some on him.

 

After that guy, i landed a couple more bass and decided to call it a day around 130 in the afternoon. I must say this was one of the best days fishing ever for me. Also i gotta say i wish i would of started bass fishing a long time ago πŸ˜€

7 responses

  1. Congrats! That is way bigger than any bass I have ever caught. What an awesome day. And here I am thinking it’s too hot to go fishing. What have I been thinking?

    Nice to hear from you again.

    August 20, 2010 at 2:08 AM

  2. Thanks buddy! I too think its too hot to go fishing. Thats why u gotta fish before the sun comes up haha πŸ˜€ also thats when the big ones bite. Im giving up on trout til october then im gonna take my pontoon to Diamond and hopefully get a couple limits of rainbows to fill the smoker. Also its that time to start putting ink on my steelhead tag. Cant let that money goto waste. If u ever want some tips at bass fishing let me know. Im still a beginner but ill share with u what i know.

    August 20, 2010 at 5:00 AM

  3. Wondered where you went. Nice Bass. Even though I don’t fish Bass, I might have a chance in the future to try. Not saying anything right now. Don’t want to jinx the thing. Maybe you have to get up at the crack of dawn to get Bass, but as you know, I fish trout any time of the day. Never been one to go with that “early morning:, “late afternoon” thing. Good to see you back.

    Mark

    August 20, 2010 at 1:34 PM

  4. Awesome post! Glad to see you back at it, you have some really beautiful country up there. With you targeting these hawg bass now, looks like you’ll need to trade in that trout rod for a MH baitcaster. Looking forward to more bass and boat posts.

    August 21, 2010 at 1:46 AM

  5. Mel

    Those are some nice Bass to brag about! Good to see your new pontoon worked into some great fishing for you. Hope your plunge into Bass fishing continues to be as exciting as this trip sounds.

    August 21, 2010 at 10:23 PM

  6. NorCalTom

    Nice fish, my father-in-law lives right down the road from Selmac, so I come up there and fish it quite a bit. I usually just fish from shore. I brought my bass boat once in April and got skunked (COLD front moved in) I’ve never caught anything very big, but have seen some big ones. Next time I come up, I’m gonna bring my float tube. Anyways, I enjoy your posts -thanks for sharing.

    August 21, 2010 at 11:06 PM

  7. Shoreman: You dont have to get up early to bass fish. but the bigger ones seem to only want to bite then.

    Troutragous: I know… now i gotta start saving up for bass gear. All i got is trout stuff and a real heavy rod for the river LOL πŸ˜€

    Mel: That first trip was a spectacular one. Dont think i could of asked for much more. other than better pictures.

    Tom: Well good luck next time your up there. Also if u want, next time u go up leave a comment and ill try to get out there and float with you.

    Thanks for all your comments and look forward to more blog posts!!!

    August 23, 2010 at 6:59 AM

Leave a Reply

