Fishing Adventures

Lake Selmac Sunday the 15th

So two days after my maiden voyage i had the urge to get back to Lake Selmac for some more Large Mouth Bass action. Got to the lake real early and started tossing my Yum Dingers. Not too long after i got a nice bite and set the hook, this fish was HUGE, but after about 10 seconds she managed to snap my line. I guess it was my fault for not having the drag set looser and i was trying to muscle this hog up. After a few naughty words said, which i felt bad afterward, because a boat not too far away from me had an older guy and his mom who had to be in her 70’s and they had to of heard me. For some reason i didnt loosen my drag after that, looking back i should of. Because not even 30 minutes later i hooked into another big ol bass, you can probably guess what happened next… SNAP. This time i didnt curse afterward, i had the second one on for probably twice as long as the first, it had my rod tip under water when the 8 pound line snapped. After that all i could manage to catch were little dinker bass, but about 5 hours after hooking into those large bass, i finally managed to get a decent bass to the boat. Not long after that i was fishing the middle of the lake and the boat that i thought heard me curse earlier in the day asked me how i was doing. I told them about the 2 that broke me off and said that id caught about 8 bass since then. I found out he was up here visiting his father in the hospital and all they were catching were bluegills. So i offered him a couple worms a couple bass hooks, and they gave me a few bucks and some cold bottles of water. I showed him how to rig the worms, texas and wacky style, we said or thanks and i kept on fishing. Not 10 minutes later i caught a little bass that ate the hook and was bleeding when i brought him up, so i rowed over to their boat and seen if they wanted to keep it, luckily they did and the bass didnt become osprey food. After that i noticed i was starting to get burned so i started to fish in the shade but after a half hour or so and no more bites i decided to call it a day. When i got home that night i went over to my buddys house who is a avid bass fisherman, told him what happened, he had a big spool of 12lb Stren that we put on my reel. So hopefully next time i hook into a monster bass ill be ready 😀

This is the only decent one that i got to the boat.

Thanks for reading. And tight lines to all the fisher people out there 😀

5 responses

  1. Man you are having a great time with them bass. I am jealous. If I could, I would come down and fish with you, but unfortunatly working about 70 hours a week doesn’t bode well for it. Besides, I don’t know if you have the room on your boat.

    Good luck anyways. Good luck with the 12 lb stren. I can’t imagine them getting much bigger than the last couple you have posted pictures of, but I will be watching to see what you come up with.

    Tight Lines!

    August 24, 2010 at 5:13 AM

  2. Some of those professional Bass Guys use 25# test or more, but they are just hook and throw it into the boat. The 12# should give you some advantage with those lunkers so you don’t keep getting kicked in the “bass”. LOL

    Mark

    August 24, 2010 at 1:40 PM

  3. Jkb

    Great Bass!!

    August 25, 2010 at 2:36 AM

  4. Allen Mitchell

    I just got into bass fishing this year. I got a couple rapala lures and that is it @ this time. I was wondering if you could give me some tips on the diffrent baits that are out there that will be effective.

    August 28, 2010 at 6:00 AM

  5. Allen. I just started bass fishing recently myself. Yum Dinger rubber worms are very effective, either Texas or Wacky rigged styles both work. My favorite colors are Watermelon green, and Pearl and watermelon combo color. Good luck out there!

    August 30, 2010 at 1:15 AM

Leave a Reply

