Fishing Adventures

Lake Selmac 8-21-10

Another trip to Selmac was in order, but this time my buddy wanted to come along after hearing about the big bass i caught. This time i didnt get to be on the water at first light like the last two times, we arrived around 11am and we immediately started to inflate the pontoon and raft. My buddy had a hard time rowing his raft but after awhile he got the hang of it when he took the paddles off the oars, guess they wouldn’t clamp down. It took awhile to get the first bass to the boat, probably over an hour and half. I got my picture with this bass just in case it were the only one of the day. I also got to test out my new Berkley digital scale on the little guy, he weighed exactly 1 pound.

That isnt fog or clouds, its smoke from a nearby fire in the Illinois Valley, when we first got there it wasnt that bad but the wind must of shifted and brought it our way. Later on in the day the wind picked up the smoke again and the sky was blue again,  kinda cool, unless the smoke bothers your breathing. After i caught that one it seemed that i would pick up a couple bass every hour. My friend started to get discouraged seeing me bringing them, but finally he got into one. I happen to look over at him in the raft and noticed his rod tip bending and asked ” You got one on?” he said “no its weeds” i knew better. So i rowed over to him and assisted him getting the hook out and took the picture of his first ever bass.

He ended up catching about 3 bass  none of them big ones. I ended up with around 12 for the day, no big ones but two of them were over 2 pounds.

That one wiggled off the scale as i was trying to weigh him. The other one i didnt get a picture of, my friend was on the bank, but i did weigh it, 2lbs 7ounce.  They both seemed to be the same size.

This was the last fish i caught, right before dark. I brought it up and thought it was the ugliest bass id ever seen, but then i realized it was was a catfish, a very slimy one. This is the first catfish iv caught in over 10 years. I got him on a 5inch  Yum Dinger rubber worm. Was really surprising. All fish were catch and released. No real big ones but still a fun day on the water.

Thanks for reading and TIGHT LINES!!

10 responses

  1. I think my handy dandy Berkley Digital Scale was one of the best gifts I’ve ever gotten.

    Mark

    August 28, 2010 at 3:22 AM

  2. Allen Mitchell Jr

    Been fishing lake Selmac for the past three weeks and I cant seem to land anything worth writing home about. I just got some 9″ hard nose worms. I am hoping that my luck turns around.

    September 7, 2010 at 10:16 PM

    • Are you fishing from the bank or boat? Dont feel bad, me and Colby a local bass wiz fished there on the 28th of august for 11 hours straight and didnt catch any big ones. Just a couple 2 pounders… bunch of little guys. Im mostly just using just 5inch yum dingers, although i did catch one on a rubber frog. I do plan on going back soon, if u have a boat or float tube i wouldnt mind fishing with you.

      September 7, 2010 at 10:30 PM

  3. Allen Mitchell jr

    I fish out of a float tube! I love the float tube it is a blast being in the water! Just got a 6’6″ fenwick HMG casting rod with an abu garcia blax max casting ree! I will be on the water this saturday should be there around 0530-0600. Hope to see you on the water

    September 8, 2010 at 1:51 PM

  4. Allen Mitchell Jr

    Another great evening on Selmac. I used my new BOOYAH spinner and got a 1lb and then close to 8pm I got another. Starting to get dark early so I only get about and hr out there. It was nice to get those little guys cause it has helped me prepare for the big one. I have learned a lot about bass fishing in the last month and it has consumed me. If i am not on the water I am on the net reading about(thank god for internet on the cell phone). This weekend I am going to hit up Selmac and see what I can get then I think that it is time to move on and try another lake. I did Emigrant last weekend and had really good luck. I think that I am going to look into going to Hyatt lake before it closes down for the winter. Any suggestions?????

    September 8, 2010 at 10:22 PM

    • Its always good to get into some fish! even if they arnt huge. although when i first read it i swear i seen 11 pounds instead of 1 lol.

      As for Hyatt Lake, i was there on the 27th of August and i have half a report done, ill finish it soon. But its a great lake if u just want to catch fish, a bite or two every cast is common. But 99% of the bass or all one size, less then a pound. But my step sister got a nice 3-4 pounder earlier this year, and her boyfriend had one snap is 12lb pound mono. Iv been there a couple times since the bass bite has been on and have caught over 60 bass id guess, but every single one i caught was a little dinker. Howard Prairie the lake right next to Hyatt is a bigger lake and holds Largemouth aswell as Smallmouth bass. Medco Pond is a big pond near the town Prospect, it would be great for a float tube/pontoon boat but its another lake i havent taken mine to yet. I did fish it a few times earlier this year though.

      Honestly though if you live near Selmac id keep fishing there! Its the best Largemouth Bass lake in this area. Also before dark is a great time to be fishing for them. Keep it up!

      September 9, 2010 at 12:47 AM

  5. Allen Mitchell jr

    I have fished howard mainly for trout with power bait. I grew up in Butte Falls and used to fish and camp @ medco pond as a kid. I caught my firts fighting fish there when I was 4. Great memory with my father. I fought the fish all the way to then bank then looked @ my dad and said “it’s a shark dad”. Last summer I fished hyatt and caught a large mouth on power bait got it to the shore and it snapped my 6lb! I am 10min from selmac.

    September 9, 2010 at 11:24 PM

  6. Hey Shane, maybe it’s just my computer, but your pics aren’t showing up. did you change image hosts?

    October 1, 2010 at 9:07 PM

    • My pictures were hosted on a website, and they lost them. So it looks like im gonna have to go through and redo all my posts. Sorry for the inconvenience. Ill have a couple of new posts up soon, aswell as my old ones updated ASAP 😀

      October 4, 2010 at 5:51 PM

  7. Almost all pictures on the blog are back up. Im also planning on final bass fishing trip to Selmac. Also they recently planted some trout, so ill be able to bring some fish home 😀

    November 5, 2010 at 9:29 PM

Leave a Reply

