Fishing Adventures

Rogue River 1-11-11

A new report!!! I hadnt gone fishing since Dec. 5th and that was only for a hour or so, up in Eugene at a private pond for bass, it was too cold!  Tuesday the 11th I needed to get out and do some fishing to get my mind off of the Ducks losing the National Championship. The day before I went to the department of fish and wildlife to turn in my blank 2010 steelhead/salmon tags and to get a key to the Denman Wildlife Area. The Denman Wildlife is a primarily hunting place for ducks and other birds, but there are also a bunch of warmwater ponds, and at the end of the dirt road is the Rogue River, right where Little Butte Creeks dumps in. Unfortunately my batteries died before i got to the river, but i did get some pictures of a couple helicopters doing some kind of practice, and one photo of a pond.

The photo above is one of the ponds, ill fish it this spring/summer for bass. I got down to the river around 230pm and started fishing spoons and jigs near little bute creek. I fished there for a bit and decided to move down the river, i have no idea how to read the water so i just kinda fished it all. At one point a steelhead ran up the river like a pissed off rocket, for a moment i thought i had hooked it with my spoon. I fished a few more different spots until i ended up where Denman Willdlife and Touville State Park meet. I fished there for about 15 minutes before i hooked into my first steelhead in over ten years!! The rod i was using was my dads from the early 90’s, a stiff red Abu Garcia and i had my drag set real tight so i just horsed it in. When i got my first look at and seen it had no fin that’s when i really got excited and walked up the beach and drug it up pretty far. Got my pocket knife out and cut the gills, made a few calls to brag. Then on my next cast i lost the Little Cleo spoon i was using, and for those wondering it was a 2/5 oz Mostly white with a little bit of red. While fishing I had no expectations of catching a steelhead, i primarily wanted to try out the new reel i bought recently a Shimano Symetre. And like the first time i took my pontoon boat out this past summer i had good luck!! A beatiful bright 5lb 26inch hatchery steelhead hen is whats for dinner tonight!  It was a great day on the water topped off with a great fish. One thing that made it a even more specail day was i seen no one on the river except for a otter and some birds. Thanks for reading and tight lines to everyone!

4 responses

  1. Score! Way to go man. That is awesome. Glad to see a post from you again. Can’t beat the taste of fresh steelhead.

    January 12, 2011 at 6:10 PM

  2. Thanks! Im back to fishing and blogging 😀 and yes it tasted marvelous!

    January 13, 2011 at 12:26 AM

  3. Nice fish. I’ve always wanted to fish the Rogue. Great blog and photos.

    January 24, 2011 at 3:59 PM

    • Thanks! The Rogue River is absolutely stunning! If you ever visit give me a message

      January 26, 2011 at 2:53 AM

Leave a Reply

