Fishing Adventures

Applegate Lake – 1-30-11

Sunday i wanted to kill my skunk, not literally for those that dont know fishing lingo. The day before i made some modifications to my pontoon boat. Installed two rod holders and a basket for extra storage. So i really wanted to get out on the water and give my new additions a try. I got to Applegate lake shortly after noon, there were only 2 other boats on the water, another toon, and a drift boat. The water is really low, i think the lake is at around 20% full. The guy in his toon was fly fishing and said he caught a few smaller trout. Like usually at applegate lake you could see the trout surfacing and jumping. I fished with spoons and spinners mainly, floated power eggs off the bottom for a little and tried some under a bobber as well. And… The skunk lives on. Had some bites but nothing to the boat. I let the wind blow me a good ways across the lake near the campground, i pulled my boat up on shore and did some bank fishing there. I then had to row into the wind all the way back to where i put in at. This was not fun. I guess i should of taken my toon out to a smaller body of water since i hadnt been out rowing since November 5th. Also a anchor would been nice, gonna look into buying/making one. I ended my day by scouting out a few places along the Applegate River to do some steelhead fishing at in the weeks coming. Until next time… Tight Lines!

The last picture was taken at Cantrall-Buckley Park along the Applegate River. I thought it was a pretty cool painting.

One response

  1. Mel

    Hey Shane, sorry to hear the skunk lives on. However, it is early and you will blow away skunk soon enough. Great pictures as always of Applegate. Sure pretty there!

    February 2, 2011 at 7:31 PM

Leave a Reply

