Fishing Adventures

Superbowl Sunday Steelhead

I woke up early today ate some grits for breakfest and called my buddy George and met him at the gate at Denman Wildlife area to do some winter steelhead fishing. We had been there for about 30-40 minutes, when i felt one of those magical tugs. I thought i had got snagged up on the bottom again because id kept on hitting the same thing but this time the snag fought back. It was alot shorter fight then the last one, mainly because i had my drag set really tight because i had forgotten to loosen it from a earlier snag. George netted the fish for me then we found out it was a wild steelhead, then we had to figure out if it was over 24 inches, if it was under i would have to set it free. Luckily it was over! I then bled it and got some pictures, tagged it and continued fishing until about 2pm when we decided to head home to watch the superbowl. It was another awesome day on the water with a another new fishing buddy!

5lb 8oz Wild Rogue River Steelhead Hen

Tight Lines!

13 responses

  1. You’re rockin’ now!

    February 6, 2011 at 10:13 PM

  2. Dean H.

    That skunk is so far gone, ain’t no stink around you. Congrats. Nice picture of a whole fish! And you tucked in your shirt! Now, let’s see that smile!

    February 7, 2011 at 12:24 AM

  3. Dean H.

    OOPS, you did smile on the top pic. Didn’t notice when I was tryin’ to pick on you. So, nevermind…….

    February 7, 2011 at 12:30 AM

  4. Doing a good job on those Steelhead.

    Mark

    February 7, 2011 at 7:09 AM

  5. Mel

    Well, I am jealous now! Nice fish, Shane.

    February 7, 2011 at 7:04 PM

  6. Hi Blazer Shane,
    It looks like you are quite the steelhead fisherman-you’ve been catching them all the time-and nice ones at that! And judging from your posts you seem thoughtful, if not open minded…I was hoping I might talk to you about possibly releasing some of those many wild steelhead you catch, like even say every other, and then letting me know how you feel about it. The way I see it, you’re bound to get another since you know what you are doing and well, if you release one, you are bettering my odds of catching one too. I release all the wild fish I catch because I think they are the most beautiful creatures (yes I know that sounds cheesy) but I want someone else to have the opportunity to see that beauty too. Most of the time steelhead are elusive and painfully difficult to catch- to me it seems like the more the better! Anyway, if you’re willing to try it, I’d love to hear what you think. Thanks for reading and even considering my thoughts…best of luck out there,
    -k8

    February 9, 2011 at 1:49 AM

    • Ill start releasing the wild ones after i keep 3 more on the Rogue River. I havent been catching them all the time. Iv caught 3 this year, and 4 in my life time. Thanks for reading my blog!

      Edit: Also wilds will be released if under 24inches.

      February 9, 2011 at 1:55 AM

  7. Awesome Shane, That’s great. I like that you are willing. Good luck with learning how to steelhead fish with jigs. When I fish gear, I really like to fish that method.
    -k8

    February 10, 2011 at 2:19 PM

    • Oh hey, I also forgot to say its not the 24 inch fish I want to catch again and again……it’s those ones over 30+!!!!

      February 10, 2011 at 2:23 PM

      • i caught one that had to be over 30 today. i got it near shore and was tryin to drag it. when my spoon went flying. i should of had a net….

        this was the first one iv had so far thats jumped. and it was atleast 10-12 pounds. my friend and his son seen it quite a bit and they agreed.

        February 10, 2011 at 6:14 PM

  8. Neil Selbicky

    Hey Shane. Now I can put a name to a face. I’ve seen you a couple times at Ledges. Ledges is the name I give to that Denman location that you fish. I think you have seen me too. I’m that fly fishing guy. Super Bowl Sunday was good for me too. Caught a nice buck up at the top near Little Butte on a Beadhead G.R. Hare’s Ear nymph. I’ll stop and say hello next time I see you.–NEIL rogueriversalmonsteelheadboard.wordpress.com

    February 17, 2011 at 1:14 PM

    • awesome blog u got there neil! fishing, hunting and mushrooms nice! I hunted for morels last year for the first time and had a blast, they even taste marvelous! ill add u to my blog roll. i was about to give that spot a name but i think ledges works perfectly for there. i look forward to meeting u out on the river!

      edit: i forgot to ask. how did u come across my blog? im curioius. was it a link on Ifish?

      February 17, 2011 at 1:26 PM

      • Neil Selbicky

        No, I stumbled upon The OregonFishingForum.Com site.Definitly recognize The Ledges stretch from the pics. I’ve has some experiences with the helicopters myself. The latest was with a Croman helicopter. The pilot saw me walking across the open field at Denman with my shotgun. Obviously heading to a pond to hunt ducks. What did he do? He dumped a couple loads of water on the pond as I was getting there. Nice! Thanks dude, don’t crash in the creek. Just kidding. I wouldn’t wish that upon anyone. But, what behavior! All part of the Rogue Valley mood sometimes! 😦

        I’ll stop and talk with you next time. Might even flyfish a bit at Ledges! :^)

        February 17, 2011 at 5:01 PM

Leave a Reply

