Fishing Adventures

The One That Got Away

I fished the Rogue River today thursday the 10th. I got to Denman Wildlife area at 230pm and was throwing spoons shortly after. My fishing buddy Jeremy and his son arrived some time around 4. They started out by using bait, worms and shrimp. I seen Jeremy catch some small trout. Im kinda glad some times that my spoons dont catch little fish, but other times i wouldnt mind catching something no matter the size.  Me and Jeremy were talking while fishing and he mentioned something about the day before something along the lines of his brother seeing a bunch of fish jump in the Grants Pass area, i replied by saying “well i hope at least one of us catches one today”. About 10 minutes later a steelhead hammered my spoon!!! Immediately after engulfing my spoon this steelhead went air borne, it was spectacular. I yelled out “DID YOU SEE THAT!?!?!  My friends seen it, the fish was so big it was hard to miss. After hooking into it i had to get back to the bank to land the fish. Since i had my hip waders on, I was standing on a piece of land in the water that u had to zig zag in order to get to with out getting wet. So i didnt have time to look down to see where i was stepping, so i just went straight for the bank and ended up soaking both of my waders and pants and socks. The fish fought like none other iv ever hooked pulled so much line and jumped about 5 times. After a few minutes i had it wore out enough where it was pretty close to the bank, thats when things turned for the worse. I was trying to horse it up the beach so i could grab it and take it home for dinner, when suddenly my spoon came flying out of its mouth and as quickly as that, the fish was set free to live another day. So i had wet pants and no fish, but i felt awesome! Having not hooked into anything the past few days this felt incredible especially seeing the fish do some acrobats. It took me about five minutes to gather myself before deciding if i wanted to keep on fishing while wet. Luckily Jeremy had brought a extra pair of pants that he let me wear so i could keep on fishing. We fished until dark no one else hooked up with a steelhead. Was an absolutely great day on the river, one i will remember for a long time. Thanks for reading. No pictures today, next time though. Tight Lines!!! oh btw we estimated the fish was in the 10-12 pound range a real HAWG!

5 responses

  1. MBUTCHER206

    pics or it didnt happen you geico caveman

    February 11, 2011 at 12:28 AM

  2. What’s a little water in your waders compared with an aerial show by the Steelhead. I don’t see any problem.

    Mark

    February 11, 2011 at 6:37 AM

  3. Mel

    You got the fish close enough to shore to live the experience with this great fish. Sadly, the last ditch effort to throw the hook worked. You will enjoy the memory for a lot longer than you would have enjoyed your meal.

    February 11, 2011 at 8:00 PM

  4. “DID YOU SEE THAT?!?!?!”
    Love it!

    February 12, 2011 at 5:18 PM

  5. Man you have just been on fire lately!!!

    February 15, 2011 at 8:59 PM

Leave a Reply

