Fishing Adventures

Sucker Fish

Iv lost my magic touch or the fish just arnt there, I thinking its the latter. As of February 23rd only 80 Winter Steelhead had made it to Cole Rivers Hatchery, the last stop for salmon and steelhead on the rogue river. So i guess the ones i had hooked in February were lucky ones. Since i fish the Upper part of the river, alot of the people dont fish up here until March and April. The spot i mainly go to is about 16 mile round trip so its easy on the gas tank. Iv been fishing the river almost daily even if its only for a few hours. Spoons are still my goto but iv added some spinners to my arsenal. I havent been taking pictures lately, usually what i base my blog posts around. Taking pictures takes up too much time, id rather have my line in the water. So with all that said I bring you two pictures from the last two trips i made to the river. The first is my fishing net, filled with trash. There was a discussion on The Oregon Fishing Forum recently that was about trash some say we shouldnt pick up after others and others including myself do pick up trash after other people.

The next picture is of a Sucker fish also known as squaw fish. This was one of the weirdest times iv brought a fish to bank. I was using a big Wyld Edge spinner when i felt something on the other end of my line. It felt like a stick at first but after a few seconds it didnt fight like a stick at all. I got my spinner to the tip on my rod and some ones line was attached to the hook. I started to pull on the line and realized there was a fish on the other end! At first i thought it was a little Steelhead, a half pounder is what they’re called on the Rogue River. It wasnt. Turned out to be a one pound 14 oz squaw fish also known as a sucker fish. It had a pink and red yarn ball stuck to his lip. Pink yarn is a popular thing to use for steelhead as it imitates eggs. So i guess the bottom feeders eat eggs too. So what i did next wasnt the most friendliest thing nor was it PETA friendly. I found a big rock right around 10lbs. And dropped it on the fishes dome. He wont be seeing any more salmon or steelhead eggs 😀

Until next time. Tight Lines!

9 responses

  1. steve

    Squaw fish and sucker fish are very different. It’s hard to tell in your picture, but a sucker fish is going to have a round mouth on the underside of its jaw. A squaw fish’s mouth is going to be straight out similar to a salmon or steelhead.

    Kill the squaw fish as they aren’t native to the Rogue and do eat smolts, but release the sucker fish.

    March 5, 2011 at 1:50 PM

    • I didnt know that. I guess i killed a sucker fish then, oops. Ill know next time. Thanks for the heads up!

      March 5, 2011 at 1:53 PM

  2. Neil Selbicky

    Catch it in the Rogue or Applegate River? I’ve caught suckers in the Applegate near Cantral Buckley. Spring bullheads are suppose to be good eating. I don’t know about suckers, they are pretty unappealing in my opinion. Glad it wasn’t a squawfish. With the dams gone I’m cringing thinking about them invading the upper Rogue River. :^(

    With this spike in water flow and warm rain, look for the upper to turn on for steelhead soon. :^)

    March 5, 2011 at 2:51 PM

    • This was in my normal spot. And i didnt catch it. I caught some ones snagged line and it was on the other end. I cant wait for the river to drop back into fishing shape. I was looking at the charts and it looks like its probably really brown.

      March 5, 2011 at 2:54 PM

      • Neil Selbicky

        Might be a flood event for a few days. Hint: Far upper if you can. :^)

        March 5, 2011 at 3:05 PM

      • yeah but every one will be up there on a little part of river, including boats. i might try up there monday though while everyone goes to work. Im gonna try bass fishing tomorrow. Or go see if the applegate is brown. When do you expect the river to be good to fish. In white city.

        March 5, 2011 at 3:09 PM

  3. brandon hill

    nice fish, even though they are garbage they can put up a great fight on light rods!

    March 6, 2011 at 2:00 AM

  4. Jeremy

    Hey Shane it’s Jeremy . Well I went fishing last weekend on the rogue and had a worm on the line when all of a suddend I had a 21 inch ? Brown trout on the line. He didn’t give much fight was curious if this could of been another kind of bottom feeding fish

    June 2, 2012 at 5:52 AM

    • If you were above lost creek lake it could of been a brown trout.

      Is this the Jeremy I used to fish with on the Rogue last February?

      June 2, 2012 at 11:10 AM

Leave a Reply

