Fishing Adventures

Pond Action

Before i get to the fishing reports I want to announce the new page on my blog. The new page is dedicated to my friends who make youtube fishing videos. So if you got some time and want to see some cool videos check out the new page! It’s at the top titled “YOUTUBE FRIENDS” enjoy!

Saturday i had some shopping to do at Big R in White City, needed to spool up my new reel and get some fishing supplies. After shopping i decided to do some bass fishing at the pond located behind the store. I had never been there, you can see part of the pond from the road and until i got to the pond i had no idea how big it really was.

As you can see the pond is a really nice sized one. I dont know how the bass fishing is there, as i think it was too cold. Also bank access is very limited, which means im gonna have to bring my pontoon. I didnt fish for very long did more exploring, and after i got my brand new buzz bait stuck in a tree i didnt feel like doing much fishing. Gonna have to come back in the spring.

This is a different pond in the back end of the bigger one.

The next day i met up with Colby Pearson at the Expo ponds to do some bass fishing. We’ve been getting rain lately so the river is really high and brown, so thats’s why i ended up at these ponds if anyone was wondering. At the pond i got a strikes on my first two casts with my 5″ yum dinger bass worm. I told Colby and he said it was probably the trout hitting it. Before i came to the pond i had stopped at Sportsmans Wharehouse, and i bought a few things including my two rod license. So i rigged up my Ultra Light rod with a worm i found the night before after it rained. I put a simple rig on, 2 split shots about 2 feet above a treble hook that held the worm. Caught my first trout not too long after, and since it was gut hooked i kept it. Not too long after that i put away the bass worm and put on a Wyld Edge Berzerker Spinner, Cutthroat color in size three, 1/8 oz. First cast hooked up with a nice little feisty stocked rainbow trout. I kept that spinner on for the rest of the time i was there. Caught countless trout on it. Only kept the fish i was catching with my worm on the UL rod, since most were gut hooked. After my 5th trout, i just used my spinner and let the wind drift me back to where I put in at. Called it a day not too long before dark, was a much needed day of catching, getting skunked day after day at the river can take a toll on you. I got some confidence in me and ill be ready to slay the steelhead midweek, after all steelhead are only big rainbow trout that went to sea and came back. It was also my first time using Wyld Edge spinners in still water, and the one spinner i did use this day worked marvelously! The single hook was great as it was much easier to release the fish with, and i released alot of fish that day. Your gonna have a hard time finding a better trout spinner for 2.50 in my opinion. Small local company from Bend Oregon, i know i like spending my money locally so make sure you guy’s check their stuff out! One last thing i almost forgot to add. Colby made a video that day a hour or so before i got there, so you can kinda get a feel on how the fishing was through video. Check it out here Stocker Trout Mania.

Until next time… Tight Lines!

One response

  1. brandon hill

    nice fish! im gettin hungry just lookin at em

    March 8, 2011 at 10:03 PM

Leave a Reply

