Fishing Adventures

Ultra Violet? CONTEST!!!

My new G. Loomis rod teamed up with my Shimano Symetre. Sweet!

There are alot of differnt gimmicks in the fishing tackle industry to try to lure the fishermen in. I personally think UV is one the things out there like that. Who knows though right. I think Kokanee fishermen have had success with UV and glow in the dark products but they are fishing much deeper then UV products for Salmon and Steelhead in rivers. So with that said I’m doing my 2nd contest, this time it’s for some pink UV Steelhead Stalkers Yarn. It’s a small package, retails for $3.00 I’m not sure what variation of pink this was, the SS brand carries a variety of colors of the color pink. Kinda confusing if you ask me lol. So if you would like to win this unique piece of fishing tackle, made here in Oregon, just leave a comment on here about your thoughts on UV in the fishing industry.

Now you’ve seen Bigfoot and UV yarn. Just a FYI the yarn was bought at the sportsman show a few weeks back. Its quite rare actually kinda like the furry guy 😀

Good Luck and Tight Lines! The next giveaway will be much better guaranteed!

winner will be announced on the 19th Saturday morning

18 responses

  1. fishinbeaverguy

    UV is super silly!

    March 12, 2011 at 9:32 PM

  2. George Permiakov

    Personally I think UV is another ‘lure’ for fisherman. Some UV products I could understand and see as legit, such as UV lures that are meant to be fished below 40ft of water. But above that UV is useless IMO.

    March 12, 2011 at 10:20 PM

  3. steve

    I think that it is the new fad. I have seen some promising reports though, and it definitely doesn’t hurt so why not use it.

    And I also picked up a pack at the sportsman show

    March 12, 2011 at 10:29 PM

  4. I use UV yarn. Just started.

    March 12, 2011 at 11:42 PM

  5. I’ve used UV products in the past with some success. I believe that it just depends on where you plan on using it. There’s a time and a place for everything….

    March 13, 2011 at 12:14 AM

  6. Adam Gai

    After hearing and seeing reports it’s hard to deny or explain the lure of the UV.

    I do think that everything has it’s place out there, especially in the “Chocolate Yeti”.

    As a lot is about not only having a natural presentation, but also making sure that a fish can see your presentation, UV seems to have it’s place out there with the rest of the gear. Might not be the best thing all the time or the silver bullet to put a little blood in the boat or on the bank, but should certainly have a small space in every persons gear bag to try and experiment with on their own.

    March 13, 2011 at 12:49 PM

  7. Dan

    I love how uv yarn looks like its glowing underwater. the only problem is that it gets too pricey making yarn balls the amount of yarn balls that i go through. i also use regular yarn more often and so my catch rate is a lot higher with regular yarn.

    March 13, 2011 at 7:12 PM

  8. brandon hill

    i think UV is utilized as a sales pitch just to make money instead of just making qulaity yarn and getting your name out there, even though the UV is used to get your attention i still think ss yarn is decent stuff i just dont like the UV aspect of it.and im loyal to another brand..just saying Lol

    March 13, 2011 at 8:10 PM

  9. The uv…..ew….awe!! It`s a sales pitch…. If yer gonna fish the ocean or great lakes, by all means….. They do have some cool shades. That`s the only reason I would buy it. To add dimensions to patterns. But they don`t just sell “new colors”. They`re tryin to hard, IMHO, to make “us” believe it`s the UV that will catch the feesh. So I don`t buy it…. My catch rate has not suffered in the least:)

    March 15, 2011 at 11:05 AM

  10. chad mcpherson aka the salmon kid

    i love the steelhead stalkers uv yarn it makes perfect yarn eggs and is very soft and lite, it is kind of thin when it gets wet so i have to double up on it,., but so far with one pack of it i have landed over 30 steelhead and trout i think that is a good product and i would strongly recomend it to any one who loves to chase steelhead and not bad on the price

    March 15, 2011 at 2:31 PM

  11. Dylan Levario

    My guess is that it helps give off the color. as seen on steelhead stalkers to make it more appealing to the fishes eeye

    March 15, 2011 at 3:14 PM

  12. Teddy Wise

    I think that the UV aspect of selling fishing lures, yarn, or other kinds of equipment is made as a sales pitch, but I’ve seen some pretty good results from it as well. I also am a firm believer that perhaps under a certain depth it would be more effective, but above that I doubt it would make a huge difference. I’m an effective yarn fisherman for winter steelhead, and I’ve never really thought that by using UV yarn it was any better then regular yarn. Great fishermen still catch fish on good ol’ regular yarn. It just depends what is right for the situation.

    The only true way to prove it to yourself is to get out there and see if there is a difference. The UV yarn, being a sales pitch, does come out to be expensive, which is a rather large negative for me being that I try to spend as little as possible with the price of gas among other things. A lot of the time in steelhead and salmon fishing, it doesn’t come down to the specific lure you’re using and whether it has UV or fluorescent coloring or a special scent additive to it, but whether you can find the fish and use the proper method to entice said fish to bite. Sure having those things might make the fish more likely to bite but I have yet to be convinced UV is better then anything else out there on the market.

    March 16, 2011 at 1:26 AM

  13. Hey Shane, you made a big change on your blog.
    When I arrived here I thought I got to the wrong site. But buddy, I like it. Your new background and header design looks cool.

    Can’t tell anything about the UV lures since I doubt I would see a way using them here. I mostly fish shallow waters in the bay system or close the shore line in the lakes.

    March 18, 2011 at 9:21 AM

    • Thanks Rick! I’m not sure if im gonna keep it or not. Got some work to do to it still. Thanks for entering the contest. I’m sure you’ll find a way to use the yarn if you win.

      March 18, 2011 at 9:50 AM

  14. Owl

    I think the new look rocks. Very unique and yet totally readable. As for the UV yarn, this is the first I’ve heard about it. On a side note, I don’t think I’ve ever heard so many anti-(insert material) sentiment anywhere. It’s yarn right? I’d use it. I mean, is it normally like $10 a bag or something? I don’t get it. ( but I’d sure tie a fly with it. why not?)

    Shane, keep on keepin’ on man. Looks great and thanks for the give-away!

    owl

    March 18, 2011 at 3:27 PM

  15. I don’t know if UV is a gimmick or not, the results look positive. We have been getting requests from quite a few people for our products in UV, so some people must have faith in it.

    March 18, 2011 at 4:34 PM

  16. David

    Whether a fish sees the UV lure, yarn, scent, flasher or whatever they can put that stuff on to catch fish is as likely as that same fish to bite your presentation IMHO. Like someone told me years ago they make lures to catch fisherman and not fish a lot of the times. That being said I also heard an interesting theory t hat UV is only good for tide waters or fish that are super fresh from the ocean. Do they even make UV for non ocean going fish? Anyway if you buy UV and catch fish then that should be your proof.I look forward to trying it and catching fish either way(=

    March 18, 2011 at 7:57 PM

    • David,

      I talked with some Bass fisherman that swear by UV for bass fishing. I don’t see why fresh or saltwater would make a difference, supposedly all fish see UV.

      March 19, 2011 at 2:42 PM

Leave a Reply

