Fishing Adventures

Galesville Reservoir 3-20-2011

So I had been keeping my eye on craigslist for awhile. Looking for cheap fishing gear, and also a small anchor i could use on my pontoon boat. Well i found a five dollar anchor that was located in Grants Pass, not to far from Medford where I’m from. I told the guy id give him 8 $ for it if he held onto it until sunday for me. He was happy to do so i think. After buying my new 10lb anchor i headed to Galesville Reservoir. I had been there once before a few years prior, but i only fished for a couple hours from the bank then and i wasnt as serious as i am now. When i got to the lake it was perfect conditions no wind and glassy water. That changed by the time I got my pontoon boat assembled and out on the water. The wind wasnt that bad, and i think it helped with trolling. I decided to use my UL spinning rod to troll a couple flys, one was a black wolly bugger and the other fly im not familiar with. So about 10-15 minutes into trolling, im out pretty far probably the middle of the lake and i notice my rod tip doing the little dance. So i grab my rod and bring in a beatiful 14inch land locked Coho Salmon. Some people might get these fish confused with kokanee which are land locked Sockeye Salmon. This fish had absolutely wonderful meat and tasted so much better then your ordinary rainbow trout. It ended up being my only fish that i brought to the boat, i had a few other strikes that didnt stick, but i think that’s how land locked salmon fishing goes, i hear they have soft mouth’s and thats what makes the hook hard to stick i guess. Was an awesome day of fishing, conditions were great, nice and sunny and not overly windy. The only downside was being a little boat in a big lake. At one point in the afternoon a large boat that looked sea worthy, decided to drive around at full throttle. He had to be going atleast 40mph’s and the waves he created seemed like a mini tsunami to me. Thanks for reading and until next time… Tight Lines!

2 responses

  1. Howdy Shane,
    nice post and a good catch. Great pictures of the beautiful scenery around that reservoir. It reminds me of a lake I used to fish a lot when I was living over in Germany.
    What concerns the big boat splashing you, so that is something we have to deal with a lot while fishing from the kayak too. Either those “hobby captains” are blind or just don’t care.
    Either way, they shouldn’t be allowed to operate anything else but a row boat. But I guess that’s just part of the game. The one s with the most money always will win.
    At least you had a nice catch and it made a good meal.
    Tight Lines
    Rick

    March 22, 2011 at 6:24 PM

  2. curt

    nice site we really enjoy galesville res the feeder stream on the end of the lake is one of my favorite places to spend a day rowing my pontoon boat the eagles, pond turtles and other game are a plus haven’t made it down there yet this year. looking forward to a camping trip this summer it’s so nice there we don’t even care if we catch some fish

    June 24, 2011 at 6:41 PM

Leave a Reply

