Fishing Adventures

My first Salmon

My laptop has been acting up so i wasn’t able to write this as soon as i would of liked. But here goes my report from May 11th on the Rogue River. My day started out at 530am two hours after my alarm went off, oops. Luckily i wasn’t meeting Charlie at the boat ramp that day, instead i met him at one of our favorite holes. We had fished the night before and he had decided to camp out on the river to save on gas and to be out in the hole bright and early. I got in the boat and he informed me that a guide had shared his same hole and pulled a salmon out of it. When i got in the boat i could see the boat down in the next hole fishing. Then we seen them hook into their second salmon of the day. Kinda disappointing for us. But then right around 8am it happened! Charlie was busy wrapping a kwik fish or something, when i noticed his rod doing something different and i told him to look at. We had two rods out, mine had a wrapped kwik fish and his had a diver with eggs. The fish had been biting it for about 10 seconds before Charlie set the hook and the fight was on!He fought it for about 15 seconds before the fish headed down the rapid and he had to jump in the back of the boat in get on the oars, so the rest of the fight was all me. And this fish fought like no other fish iv ever had on the end of my line. We got down pass the rapid and we got the boat up on shore and Charlie got out so he could try to net it. But the salmon had other ideas. The drag wasn’t loose but it really seemed like it was, the way the salmon was pulling out 15lb line. I eventually had to say get back in the boat and lets chase this beast down, i wasn’t making any ground on it. By then it had been more then a few minutes and my arm was tired. Luckily we went down the river after it and not too long after we got it in the net. Turned out to be a small Spring Chinook Salmon, 26inches. I didn’t care though. It was my very first Salmon from a river and it was also the hardest fighting fish i ever caught! A couple other cool things about this salmon was it was the first one of the year in Charlies boat and also the first one hes got on a diver.Turned out third day in a row chasing the salmon was the charm. I must say fishing for salmon is way more frustrating then steelhead. These fish are famous for having lock jaw. Most people say they don’t bite. Ninety percent of the bank anglers fishing for them arnt getting them to bite when they hook one. Which makes it even sweeter when we get one to bite our offerings, because every day of salmon season you’ll see the banks lined up with yankees. And by yankees i don’t mean the baseball team. People on the banks arnt fishing in my opinion well most people, id say they are harvesting the salmon instead of fishing for them. A tiny bead, hook, and some weight is all they need to get into a beast of a fish. I guess if i wanted to feel the tug and put fish on the table id be out there lined up on the banks by the hatchery with the rest of them. But that’s not my crowd, combat fishing is what its called. And i have no desire to do it. All my salmon fishing will be done from a boat away from the masses. I have nothing against those who floss the fish or line them in the mouth, what ever you want to call it. But id much rather go bass or trout fishing where i know i can convince the fish to bite. So here’s to a fish that was caught the “right” way, he was a biter! Oh and before I go id like to give major thanks to my favorite fishing guide out there! Charlie Brown of FishingTheRogue.com

Thanks for reading my little blog and tight lines!

2 responses

  1. Fisheater

    Great post. Were you using a spin and glo or corky w your eggs under the diver or just straight eggs? Keep it up; you’re sticking em this year. FE

    May 24, 2011 at 9:41 PM

Leave a Reply

