Fishing Adventures

Fishing Dorena For The First Time

I recently moved to Eugene from Medford, and iv been loving  all the new waters I can fish! Iv heard many great thing about Dorena’s bass fishing, and its fairly close to Eugene. So Thursday morning I took my pontoon boat there at O’dark thirty. Finding a spot close to the lake in the dark was fairly hard but I managed to find a good spot to put my boat together and it was a short distance to the waters edge, I hate carrying my boat a long ways, especially if its steep. Didn’t get my first bass until 2-3 hours on the water, but it was a good one for my standards. I came upon a older man and his grand daughter I assume, fishing on the bank. I always give bankies plenty of room because I used to be one. After I made it back to casting distance from the shore I hooked into a nice Large Mouth Bass, it went for 3lbs 9oz on my digital scale. Not long after that the wind picked up, so I let it drift me back to where my car was parked. I proceeded to catch two more decent fish! The first being a Small Mouth Bass probably in the 1lb range.

The last fish of the day was kind of a fluke, it got me by surprise. Like I said earlier I was letting the wind drift me back to my car, and I was casting toward the grass. I wasn’t paying too much attention as I was pretty happy for the day catching a couple nice bass. Well I made a cast and some how the line got underneath my foot rest, so I proceeded to free it and once free I felt something on the other end of the line, and I set the hook! Turned out to be the nicest fish of the day, a nice 4lb 2oz Large Mouth Bass. All fish on this day came on a 5inch Melon Pie color Yum Dinger worm, the last two came on the wacky rig, and the first one was Texas rigged with a bullet weight. Check out the short little video I put together, you can see all three bass in it!

Thanks for reading and watching the video! Tight Lines!!!

Leave a Reply

